Local Government & Contacts

Being that McKinleyville is unincorporated, our town doesn’t have a city government. But we do have city-like services, including sewer, water, parks and recreation, police, planning, a library, etc.

These services are provided by two separate government agencies – the McKinleyville Community Services District and the County of Humboldt.

McKinleyville Community Services District (MCSD)

The McKinleyville Community Services District is what we identify as being our local government because it provides services directly to us and we elect its Board of Directors.

logo_mcsd_cmykThe MCSD oversees sewer, water, street lighting, limited drainage, open space maintenance, streetlights and parks and recreation, in a 12,140 acre area ranging from North Bank Road on the south to Patrick’s Creek on the north. The MCSD also owns and maintains a library building and a law enforcement office, although both of those facilities are staffed by the County of Humboldt.

The MCSD is overseen by an elected, five-member Board of Directors. The board typically meets on the first Wednesday of the month at 7 p.m. at Azalea Hall, 1620 Pickett Road, McKinleyville.

Here is the contact information for the MCSD and its board.

Physical Address: 1656 Sutter Rd., McKinleyville, CA 95519

Mailing Address: P.O. Box 2037, McKinleyville, CA 95519

MCSD Main Office:

Phone: (707) 839-3251

Fax: (707) 839-8456

Emergency phone:

(707) 601-9241

Parks & Recreation Office:

Phone: (707) 839-9003

Fax: (707) 839-5964

Office Hours:

Monday – Friday

9:00 am – 5:00 pm

(Excluding Holidays)


MCSD Email: mcsd@mckinleyvillecsd.com

MCSD Parks & Recreation email:


MCSD Board of Directors:


small_Mayo Dennis

David Mayo


small_David Couch August 2011

David Couch

Vice President

John August 2011

John Corbett


small_Edwards Helen

Helen Edwards


small_Bill August 2011Director Bill Wennerholm:

Bill Wennerholm



County of Humboldt


The County of Humboldt provides planning, law enforcement, road maintenance, police protection, drainage and a variety of other services to McKinleyville. There’s too much to list, so if you want to know more visit the county’s website at http://co.humboldt.ca.us.

McKinleyville is in the Fifth District, which is represented on the Board of Supervisors by Ryan Sundberg. Here’s Ryan’s contact information:

Fifth District Supervisor Ryan Sundberg

825 5th Street

Eureka, CA 95501

Phone: (707) 476-2395

Email: rsundberg@co.humboldt.ca.us


Ryan is one of five supervisors. Here is the contact information for the other four:


First District Supervisor Rex Bohn

825 5th Street

Eureka, CA 95501

Phone: (707) 476-2391

Email: rbohn@co.humboldt.ca.us


Second District Supervisor Estelle Fennell

825 5th Street

Eureka, CA 95501

Phone: (707) 476-2392

Email: efennell@co.humboldt.ca.us


Third District Supervisor Mark Lovelace

825 5th Street

Eureka, CA 95501

Phone: (707) 476-2393

Email: mlovelace@co.humboldt.ca.us


Fourth District Supervisor Virginia Bass

825 5th Street

Eureka,CA 95501

Phone: (707) 476-2394

Email: vbass@co.humboldt.ca.us


McKinleyville Municipal Advisory Committee (McKMAC)


The McKinleyville Municipal Advisory Committee (McKMAC) is a relatively new committee that was established in late 2012. It’s kind of a funny animal that has grown out of McKinleyville’s status as an McKMAC.websiteunincorporated community, Residents want to have a greater say in what happens in town with regard to services provided by the County of Humboldt. So the McKMAC was formed by the Humboldt County Board of Supervisors.

The McKMAC typically meets at 6 p.m. on the last Wednesday of the month at the Azalea Conference Center, which is located at the rear of the McKinleyville Middle School campus.

You can email the McKMAC at Mckinleyvillemac@gmail.com

The committee made of eight McKinleyville folks.

Supervisor Ryan Sundberg appointed Bernie Garrigan, Tim Hooven and Eleanor Sullivan. The Board of Supervisors appointed Kevin Dreyer, Ben Shepherd and Patrick Barsanti to the committee. The McKinleyville Community Services District appointed its president, Helen Edwards, as its representative on the committee. The MCSD Manager, currently Interim General Manager Greg Orsini, serves as a non-voting member.

The McKMAC is charged with gathering community input and commenting on matters of concern which relate to county services provided to McKinleyville.

The committee can comment on anything involving roads, drainage, public works, police protection, animal control, health and safety in McKinleyville.

The McKMAC may also enter the realm of land use planning by reviewing, commenting and providing advisory recommendations to the Humboldt County Planning Commission and Board of Supervisors on proposed zoning amendments and General Plan amendments within McKinleyville.

The McKMAC may also discuss and make recommendations about long-term planning issues.

Per the rules establishing this county committee, the McKMAC is not intended to address county-wide issues. The focus must be on county services and how they relate to McKinleyville.

When it comes to planning, the McKMAC may not review or provide recommendations on subdivisions, conditional use permits, special permits, coastal development permits, or variances, unless the projects are part of a larger project which General Plan amendment or zone reclassification.

The rules governing the committee make  it clear that the McKMAC is an advisory body only.

“The MMAC will make recommendations on proposed zoning, General Plan petitions and amendments, but is not a decision–making body. The MMAC will not have authority to make, set, provide interpretation of or enforce county ordinances, policies or laws,” states the McKMAC rules and regulations.


McKinleyville Union School District


The McKinleyville Union School District oversees the town’s elementary schools – Morris, Dow’s Prairie and McKinleyville Middle School.


The District Superintendent is Michael Davies-Hughes. His email is: mdavies-hughes@nohum.k12.ca.us


The following is a list of the MUSD Board of Trustees and their email addresses:


President of the Board Brian Mitchell: BMitchell@snsc.com


Clerk of the Board Tim Hooven: timh@hoovenco.com


Board member Justin Zabel: jzabel@mercerfraser.com


Board member Sara Alto: salto@suddenlink.net


Board member Don Rosebrook: donjenmae@yahoo.com


Northern Humboldt Union School District


The Northern Humboldt Union School District oversees McKinleyville High School, Arcata High School, Tsurai High, Pacific Coast High, Northern Humboldt Cummunity Day School and the Six Rivers Charter School.

District Superintendent Chris Hartley and Executive Director Dave Lonn can be reach at:

Telephone: (707) 839-6481

Fax: (707) 839-6457

The following are the school board members and their contact information:


Dan Johnson




Colleen Toste


<a href=”mailto:colleentoste@umpquabank.com”>colleentoste@umpquabank.com</a>


Dana Silvernale




Dan Collen




Mike Pigg




Arcata Fire Department

Don’t let the name fool you. McKinleyville’s fire department is the Arcata Fire Department. The fire department covers McKinleyville, Arcata, Bayside and Manila. The fire department is overseen by the Arcata Fire Protection District Board of Directors.

The directors typically meet on the third Tuesday of each month at 7 p.m. at the  Arcata Station, 631 9th Street, Arcata.

The directors are:

  • John Davis
  • Elena David
    Vice Chair
  • Larry Mendez
  • Steve Tyler
  • Tom Ayotte

You can email the directors at  slindke@arcatafire.org.