ELECTION 2013: Candidates for MUSD

With one of the incumbents opting to not seek re-election, the deadline to sign up as a candidate for the McKinleyville Union School District Board of Trustees has been extended to 5 p.m. Wednesday, Aug. 14.

The deadline was automatically extended after Donald Rosebrook didn’t sign up as of 5 p.m. last Friday.

As of Monday morning, candidates for the Nov. 5 election included incumbents Tim Hooven and Justin Zabel. They face challengers John McCarthy and Mary McCarthy. Three seats are up for grabs.

The MUSD oversees Morris and Dow’s Prairie elementary schools and McKinleyville Middle School.